Film Information
  • Year: 2015
  • Length: 90min
  • Country: Nigeria

FAAJI AGBA is a six-year journey by film-maker Remi Vaughan-Richards following seven, 68-85yr old master musicians in Lagos, Nigeria. They were forgotten by society, until Kunle Tejuoso, owner of Jazzhole Records, follows a trail to rediscover them. Kunle’s journey starts with Fatai Rolling Dollar which led him to others such as  Alaba Pedro, SF Olowookere, Sina Ayinde Bakare. Their musical styles range from highlife, juju-juju to afrobeat. And the  ‘FAAJI AGBA COLLECTIVE is born.

The documentary starts in 2009 and follows them on their journey to New York in 2011 where tragedy strikes. Undeterred by the setback they perform one last time in Lagos, ends up being their last. Faaji Agba is a comment on Lagos history, culture and music from the 1940’s to 2014

Film Credits
Director: Remi Vaughan-Richards
Contact Information